No thread here

DrBGood

Reaction score
Sorry I couldn't bare to read the whole background info, I went straight to the pics.

My suggestion still: bring it to a qualified luthier.

An Abiding Dude

Reaction score
I own a 2003(sold in 2004) Gibson SG Standard Faded with Ebony Fretboard and Crescent Moon Inlays. The guitar is very special to me for a lot of reasons but mainly this:
I was a senior in undergrad in Athens GA. Been playing since 16 and I'd wanted an SG every day. The faded line with the Ebony Frets with crescent inlays were going to be discontinued- Gibson was keeping the Faded Line but not with the Ebony and Crescent inlays. My sis is 3 yrs older and she was finishing her PhD same Uni. Musicians Friend had some, Guitar Center had some(a pretty penny), and the MF catalog indicated that the Ebony with Crescent's were gone. There was much swearing that day. My birthday was about 4 days off and I was going to order a solid painted SG with rosewood fingerboard, dot inlays. I was about to take and load my prepaid and I heard my sis yell for me to wait before I left her townhouse. She had bought me the SG. I had "loaned" her $300 and she took the rest from her bank account and when they were in stock with the Ebony Fingerboard and the Crescents, sis had bought me one. Hid it in her townhouse. As I was about to have a painted SG- sis had bought me a Faded with Crescent Inlays I had been lusting over since late 2001. They had a name for these- it wasn't voodoo because the voodoo was black and only marked at the 12th fret, there was another guitar like this in the SG line that had an Ebony fingerboard and only the 12th fret was marked, and marked with a Crescent Moon.

During a move when I went to work in Louisiana, I had it in a road case and it was buckled in the back seat of my Jeep Cherokee(XJ). There were zero panic stops and zero chances for it to be damaged. I had no strings on it.